IPSO Alliance Announces New Board Leadership

The IPSO Alliance (IPSO) has announced its new board of directors and slate of officers for the coming year. New President and Chairman Christian Lgar of Micrium will lead the board, alongside Vice President Pete St. Pierre of Oracle, Treasurer Nick Ashworth of Eaton and Secretary Jan Hiller of Ericsson. Additionally, ARMs Hannes Tschofenig was elected to the board for the first time, and joins additional board members Fabien Castanier of STMicroelectronics and Geoff Mulligan of Proto6.

“Over the past six months, the Alliance has experienced a significant increase in member involvement to drive our technical work groups and advance the IoT,” said Lgar. “Our members represent some of the leading minds thinking about the issues facing the IoT, and I look forward to collaborating with them to develop solutions for the industry. One of my first priorities is to streamline and standardize working group efforts to ensure participants can operate efficiently and effectively.”

The new board was introduced as part of the organizations spring member meeting, which took place at the end of May in Toronto. During highly productive working sessions, IPSO member companies were briefed on the status of the alliances working groups, including Protocol, Semantics and Security, Identity & Privacy.

This latter working group drove significant discussion from the members, around the idea that the exponential growth of IoT devices creates scalability issues with device-device interaction. However, device trust is essential to securing IoT. A highly diverse vendor community requires interoperability, which includes device authentication and attestation. Different approaches to solve this dilemma were presented, and this work will be a significant focus for the Security, Identity & Privacy working group moving forward.

Comments are closed.